We aren't entirely sure. One player received this when trying to make a purchase. What he discovered is that someone else had (possibly maliciously) used his account to attempt purchases, so Google wanted him to verify his account before it would let him make purchases again. After he verified his account, he was able to make the purchase.
Article is closed for comments.